+94 11 295 8542

Three More New Priests to St. Joseph vaz Independent Delegation – Sri Lanka

Latest News

The 16th of February 2022 was a day of blessing for St. Joseph Vaz Independent Delegation as she received the gift of three new priests. Deacons J. Donal Christy CMF, K. Annroy Aravinth, CMF and T.P. Patrick Johnson, CMF were ordained as priests by the Most Rev. Dr. Justin Bernard Gnanapragasam, the Bishop of Jaffna at St. Mary’s Cathedral, Jaffna.

In the homily, the bishop highlighted the importance for priests to cultivate a deep relationship with the Lord and to have a total commitment for the Lord’s mission in order to remain happy and holy priests. During a speech, the Vicar General of the diocese Very Rev. Fr. Josephdas Jebaratnam noted with appreciation the dedicated missionary service the Claretian Missionaries are rendering in the diocese of Jaffna.

Rev. Fr. Jeyaseelan, the Superior of the Delegation thanked the parents of the newly ordained priests for offering their sons generously for the service of the Church through the Claretian Congregation. Fr. Jeyaseelan also expressed his gratitude on behalf of the Congregation to Bishop Justin and the diocese of Jaffna for the tremendous support given to the Congregation in different ways.

The new priests celebrated their first thanksgiving masses in their respective parishes: Fr. Christy on the 17th in Punguduthivu, Fr. Johnson on the 19th in Periya Vilan, and Fr. Annroy on the 20th in Anaicoddai. They were given the following as the first assignment as priests:

  • Fr. K. Annroy Aravinth:  Assistant parish priest of Thevakiraman in the Diocese of Batticaloa.
  • Fr. J. Donal Christy: Assistant parish priest of Namunukula in the Diocese of Badulla.
  • Fr. T.P. Johnson: Assistant parish priest of Mallavi in the Diocese of Jaffna.
Popular Post
From the 3rd to the 5th of April, the Sri Lankan Delegation celebrated its…

Subscribe Us

Subscribe us and get latest news and upcoming events.
*Never share your email with others.
Join Us

Lorem ipsum dolor sit amet, consectetur elit, sed do eiusmod tempor incididunt ut labore et magna aliqua. Ut enim ad minim veniam laboris.